Latest Accredited Archive Services announced

Archive Service Accreditation is the UK-wide standard for archive services. Following an Archive Service Accreditation Panel in March, we are pleased to announce the following archive services have been awarded accreditation for the second time:

  • Archives and Cornish Studies Service
  • Bank of England Archive
  • Barnsley Archives and Local Studies
  • Lloyds Banking Group Archives
  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine Archives Service
  • National Theatre Archive
  • Portsmouth History Centre
  • Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland
  • The Royal Society
  • Surrey History Centre
  • West Yorkshire Archive Service
  • Archives Wigan and Leigh
  • University of Kent Special Collections and Archives

All accredited archive services must apply again for accreditation six years after their initial award to retain their accredited status. By achieving accreditation for a second time these archive services have demonstrated a commitment to continuing development of their service and the effective management of change.

Archive Service Accreditation is supported by a partnership of the Archives and Records Association (UK), Archives and Records Council Wales, National Records of Scotland, Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Scottish Council on Archives, The National Archives, and the Welsh Government through its Museums, Archives and Libraries Wales division.

View the full list of accredited archive services

Find out more about Archive Service Accreditation