The Secretary of State for Justice has announced the appointment of Roy Grant and Nigel Cotgrove to the Prison Service Pay Review Body.

The Secretary of State for Justice has announced the appointments of Roy Grant and Nigel Cotgrove as members to the Prison Service Pay Review Body (PSPRB). Both appointments will be for a tenure of five years and will commence on 1 August 2023 until 31 July 2028.

The PSPRB provides the government with independent advice on the remuneration of operational prison staff in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, as set out in The Prison Service (Pay Review Body) Regulations 2001 (SI 2001 No. 1161).

Appointments and re-appointments to the PSPRB are regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. These appointments have been made in line with the Commissioner’s Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies.

Public appointments to the PSPRB are made by the Prime Minister.

Roy Grant biography

Roy Grant was recently a Non-Executive Director for RCNi for 9 years until 2022 and a Member of the Royal College of Nursing Remuneration Committee. He has worked on industrial relations programmes, strategy development, financial stability, governance and audit and risk. From 2015 to 2021 he was chair of the remuneration committee for Your Housing Group, a social housing organisation across the Midlands and North West. Prior to 2013 he had a long career as an HR director across multiple sectors.

Nigel Cotgrove biography

Nigel Cotgrove is currently a Trustee Director of the BT Pension Scheme, where he has been in post since 2020. He has also been part of the Members’ Panel at the National Employment Savings Trust (NEST) since 2016. Nigel worked for the Communication Workers’ Union (CWU) for 31 years until 2020. He served as a National Officer for over 20 years representing workers in the telecoms, IT and financial services sectors. Prior to that, he worked as a CWU Research Officer.

Published 25 April 2023