Joint statement delivered by Ambassador Barbara Woodward, UK Permanent Representative to the UN, on behalf of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, EU, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guyana, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United States of America, Yemen and the United Kingdom.

Dame Barbara Woodward DCMG OBE

This morning, the Security Council will discuss the situation in Yemen.

We strongly condemn the latest detentions by the Houthis, since 7 June, of United Nations personnel and staff working for or who have previously worked for international and national non-governmental organisations and diplomatic missions.

We demand the immediate and unconditional release of all those detained and urge the Houthis to ensure the safety and security of humanitarian and United Nations personnel.

We are gravely concerned at the significant and rapid deterioration of the humanitarian situation in Yemen and underline that it is essential for humanitarian actors to have unimpeded access to civilian populations.

We are also deeply concerned at the risk to delivery of essential humanitarian assistance and reiterate our call to respect international humanitarian law with regard to the safe, rapid and unimpeded access for all humanitarian actors to ensure that humanitarian assistance can reach the most vulnerable in Yemen.

We reaffirm our strong commitment to the unity, sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity of Yemen, and our commitment to stand by the people of Yemen.

Published 13 June 2024