Written Statement: Enterprise Zone Programme and the Advisory Boards for Anglesey, Haven, and Port Talbot Enterprise Zones

Today I am announcing the decision not to reappoint the Advisory Boards for the Enterprise Zones in Anglesey, Haven Waterway, and Port Talbot Waterfront. Their current terms expired on 31 March 2024. With new regional governance structures emerging in regard to Corporate Joint Committees, Freeports and Investment Zones, now seems timely to seek to rationalise some of the governance structures. 

I wish to put on record my appreciation to the Chairs – Mr Roger Maggs MBE, Mr Stan McIlvenny OBE, and Mr Neil Rowlands – Boards members, the local authorities, and other partners across all the Enterprise Zone areas who have played a significant role in driving forward the objectives and positive impacts in their respective areas over several years.  

Regional economic development continues to evolve and develop and the highest level of collaboration between partners and stakeholders will be required to continue delivering on this Government’s ambition for a fairer, greener, and more prosperous Wales.